IU Bloomington faculty, students recognized by American Sociological Association

Indiana University Bloomington sociologist Brian Powell received a Distinguished Career Award and other faculty members and graduate students in the Department of Sociology were recognized for books and articles during the recent annual meeting of the American Sociological Association.

Powell, James H. Rudy Professor and chair of the sociology department in the College of Arts and Sciences, received the Distinguished Career Award from the ASA Sociology of the Family Section.

Brian Powell

Brian Powell

“The award recognizes Brian’s position as one of the most esteemed sociological scholars of the family,” said Jane McLeod, Provost Professor of Sociology at IU Bloomington. “His ground-breaking research into how Americans conceptualize family, and their opinions on gay marriage and adoption, place Indiana University at the center of national legal and political debates, provide unparalleled training opportunities for our students, and bring honor to our department.”

Faculty and students were recognized by the American Sociological Association and by other organizations that met in conjunction with the ASA annual meeting last month in Seattle. In other recognition of IU Bloomington faculty and students:

  • Dina Okamoto, professor, received the ASA Section on Asia and Asian America’s Best Book Award for “Redefining Race: Asian American Panethnicity and Shifting Ethnic Boundaries”; and the Section on International Migration’s Louis Wirth Best Article Award for “Legitimating Contexts, Immigrant Power and Exclusionary Actions” (co-authored with Kim Ebert).
  • Brea Perry, associate professor, received the ASA Education Section’s James Coleman Award for Best Article and the Law and Deviance Section’s James F. Short Distinguished Article Award for “Suspending Progress: Collateral Consequences of Exclusionary Punishment in Public Schools” (co-authored with Edward Morris).
  • Graduate student Matt Grace received the SAGE Teaching Innovations and Development Award.
  • Bianca Manago received the ASA Medical Sociology Section’s Howard B. Kaplan Graduate Student Award. Manago and Trenton Mize received the Society for the Study of Social Problems Sexual Behavior’s Politics and Communities Division Graduate Student Paper Award for “Stereotypes of Sexual Orientation.”
  • Roshan Pandian received the ASA Development Section Graduate Student Paper Award for “Does Manufacturing Matter for Economic Growth in the Era of Globalization?”
  • Natasha Quadlin received the ASA Sociology of Education Section David Lee Stevenson Award for Outstanding Graduate Student Paper for “Gender and Time Use in College: Converging of Diverging Pathways.”
  • Graduate student Landon Schnabel received the Association for the Sociology of Religion McNamara Paper Award for “Secularism and Fertility Worldwide” and the ASA Altruism, Morality and Social Solidarity Section Student Paper Award for “More Religious, Less Dogmatic.” He also received the ASA Sociological Practice and Publication Section Dentler Award for Outstanding Student Achievement.
  • Orla Stapleton received the Society for the Study of Social Problems Community Research and Development Division Graduate Student Paper Award for “From Myth to Means: Place and Organizational Processes in the Gowanus Canal Superfund, New York.”
  • Tom Van Heuvelen received the ASA Section on Inequality, Poverty and Mobility Section Student Paper Award for “Recovering the Missing Middle: A Mesocomparative Analysis of Within-Group Inequality.”

Also, Fabio Rojas, professor of sociology, received the Leon Epstein Outstanding Book Award from the American Political Science Association Political Organizations and Parties Section for “Party in the Street: The Antiwar Movement and the Democratic Party after 9/11” (co-authored with Michael T. Heaney).

Tags: , ,